What about the future of Flash ?


cryominute:

I was trying to play the latest episode of “Once Upon a Time” on ABC player and granted I have the latest browsers and updates it would not play.I found this interesting article on the future of Flash and how Google does not allow the plugs for ABC Player to operate.

Originally posted on Video Encoding & Streaming Technologies :

Long time passed since my last post on this blog. I have been very busy in an important video streaming project but this is not the only reason for my absence. I have also wanted to wait and take all the necessary time to analyze, ponder and “digest” the infamous Flash affair.
I will not hide my bitterness about the fact, but I’m also more optimitic now, after I have seen the real consequences and have had the time to elaborate on the future scenario. I’ts not all a bed of roses but I’m somewhat optimistic.

First of all, fortunately, I’m not limited to Flash technology in my consultancies. I work with .net technologies for many years and I have designed and deployed successful streaming services in HLS with both Wowza Server and FMS 4.5

You also know that I’m an encoding expert with important success cases and a deep knowledge of commercial and open source encoders…

View original 944 more words