sockhop

Everyday I am Shuffling


New dance routine….I guess it’s my top form of exercise.

Right?

We Just wanna see you Shake that…

I am back into my size 16 jeans. Oh yea!
Glad I kept all my favorites.
I knew in my heart I was not going to hit Size 20.The 18 part was a close call.

All my blouses fit so much better too.

I have never been one for exercise or fad diets, counting calories not for me either.
So, I just started using a smaller plate and ya know it works. Since last year at my highest weight of 220; I am down too 195. This is the same I weighed in 1998.
When I graduated from high school in 1966 I weighed 150. I think I would look like a crack addict if I weighed that now.

I have a bit of a routine I suppose. I occasionally take short walks; or take my bicycle for a spin. It is so much easier and quicker to hop on the moped.

I Love Special K cereal with fresh fruit, especially blueberries.

Yogurt is a biggie with me too, I even use it in my 2 % smoothies, with just ice and added fresh fruit. It taste just like ice cream too me.

I was raised on Fried and Creamed. The more dough and grease the better.
I bake now, and not pies.

At the moment I have a Chicken wing bake in the oven. I put a layer of Julienne carrots on the bottom, then I layered the remaining wings, potatoes and just a bit of onion. Very light on the olive oil for a bit of flavor and lots of seasonings. Bake at 325-350 ° for approximately an hour and 1/2.

Bitter Sweet Orange Marmalade Cupcakes


cryominute:

I love Orange Marmalade.

Originally posted on ediblesubstance:

I had really wanted to try out these cakes,and been thinking of new recipes to try and saw a blog post that gave me the push. I am really happy with the result. I used a basic cupcake recipe and added in the flavours I thought would go well using an orange cream cheese icing to top it off. Here’s how I did it.

Recipe
For the cake batter:
100g Butter
100g Caster Sugar
2 Free range eggs
100g Self raising flour
2 Tsp Orange marmalade
(optional to taste, drop of orange extract and or orange zest)

Extra marmalade for the centre

For the orange,cream cheese icing:
180g Cream cheese
350g Icing sugar
Zest of one orange

Makes 12 cupcakes
Baking time:15 minutes

Preheat the oven to 170’C. Cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add the eggs and blend in. Then mix in the flour and marmalade ensuring there are no lumps. If you…

View original 174 more words

Power Animals


On this day of 2012,I searched for my Power Animal

Power Animal

I found my White Horse

You are most fortunate to have the horse spirit within you, for she has many things to teach you and many blessings to share.

The horse will show you how to balance your caring nature and deep love for others with your equally deep need for freedom and independence.

There will be days when she shows you how to relax fully, first rubbing against your loved ones, then just standing in the shade of the tree and munching the apples as they fall. Abundance will be yours, as she teaches you that a peaceful and centered life provides what is needed, like apples falling from a tree on a perfect summer’s day.

And when you ask, she will take you for a ride, as you run like the wind, faster and faster, until finally, like Pegasus, she sprouts wings, soars into the air and allows your soul to fly free. She will lift you to the heavens and reveal to you there your own highest self.

And through it all, she will show you how to stay deeply centered in the moment. She will teach you to live without worry or regret, your heart free of blame. Breathe in her spirit and she will bring you fully into this moment and all that it contains, where you can balance beauty and duty, freedom and togetherness, all in perfect joy and harmony.

The Enchanted Forest

Choose your own Power Animal and unleash new energy into your life

Good Ole Days


Click on the Kinklings

Excerpt:
“My mama told me a story about me when I was small. She would make dozens and dozens of kinklings, a form of a donut that is popular in the area I am from.”
Click on the Kinkling picture…

I received a package in the mail the other day.A box of Kinklings and King syrup from my relatives in Maryland.They have a KINKLING making party every Feb-March.
The temps here have been in the low 80’s for a few days so they were nice and warm when I opened my mailbox :)

I immediately made coffee and settled down for a snack.

The sticky King syrup ran down my chin and I just continued indulging over the sink.

They were so good.I have a few left,they do not last long in my kitchen.

Recipe for Kinklings

My Grandmother’s Recipe

1 cup sugar
4 lbs flour (16 cups)
1 qt. milk (scalded and cooled)
4 eggs, well beaten
8 tblspn shortening or lard
2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. nutmeg (optional)
2 cakes yeast

Soften yeast in water and add 1 tsp. Sugar to milk, stir. Stir in yeast. Cover and let rise in warm place till doubled. Stir in eggs, butter, remaining sugar, salt, nutmeg and enough flour so mixture can no longer be stirred with a spoon. Cover and let rise till double. Punch down dough and divide in 2 portions. On a floured board roll out to 1/2″ thickness, cut with doughnut cutter (or large glass), place on trays and let rise till doubled. Fry in deep fat until brown, turn to brown other side. Drain on paper towels. Makes about 4 dozen.

Email Scams


For all my readers that fly with me on ~Galvanic Jumpings~

Beware of a new email scam.Usually comes into your yahoo account and asks you to change your bank,google and Facebook passwords.

Strange it doesn’t say to change your yahoo password because hey they already breached it.

It’s always a good idea to change your passwords to something more secure then say a four letter word.I did some research and came up with the same issue.

Email Scams and Spam

and my favorite go to:

Latest Email Hoaxes