There Were Two

The wooden planks creak as I hear passersby walk.

The night is dark and humid

I sit inside on a hard stool waiting.

My new love sits outside and listens as the men tease him about being away and still his love sits without him

I take a smoke from one of the men and inhale the aroma and sweetness.The cloud of smoke wafts outside to where my love is sitting.

I know he has walked and acquired his sweetness

I look out and inquire why he is alone and has not asked me to join him

He stands up and motions for me too come

He takes my hand
It feels so thin and as I walk behind him to sit
I notice his lanky frame

He passes his lit pipe to me
I watch him as I inhale

He seems distant yet close

He says you know there were two

I want to ask what happened but the words do not form
in a voice that can be heard

I speak with him and say that sometimes each of us needs to be alone

I let him know that I felt he wanted that

Too be alone in his thoughts

He took me in his arms and I felt strength in me from him

He said

“I am alone too much,I long too smell your hair and take in the warmth of your essence”

He said

“I feel strength from you when you are in my arms”

by ©Cynthia Martz 2011

Author: cryominute

In my mind are the castles of a realm unseen Come, join me on my flight

I'm listening for the "Whispers"

