Forget Me Not

“Don’t forget me!” This beautiful flower came to be known as Forget-me-not, associated in the language of flowers with true love – the love that never dies.

Copyright ©2012~ Cynthia Martz
Copyright ©2012~ Cynthia Martz

Thoughts of my mama and dad just went through me like a summer breeze on a warm day…

A story about forgetmenots, the Flower.

There was a young man and woman and they were walking on a mountain trail one day and she saw these lovely flowers on the bank. The man being young and in love decided to climb down the mountain a bit and retrieve the lovely flowers for her. They were dainty like her, soft and the color of the sky. The center was yellow and reminded him of her blonde hair.

According to an ancient legend, a knight about to get married, dressed in his armor, was taking a ride along a river with his fiancée. His fiancée saw an extremely beautiful bunch of blue flowers rocking on the waves, and asked her paramour to pick them up. As he reached over to get them, the knight slipped and fell into the river.

The heavy armor hindered him from swimming and he started sinking into the water, but not before throwing her the blue flowers and shouting: “Don’t forget me!” This beautiful flower came to be known as Forget-me-not, associated in the language of flowers with true love – the love that never dies.

My dad carried this from my mama in WW 2.

My mother loved the dainty flowers and always had forget me nots in her home.

dadcarriedforgetmenotflowers_heart

Author: cryominute

In my mind are the castles of a realm unseen Come, join me on my flight