Buttons and Bows

Two new birdies the 9 th of April 2011…I named them Buttons and Bows.

Buttons_Bows

On April 4 th 2011 an ex visited and he said  “I remembered my promise, and gave me a beautiful little yellow bird to be Sages new friend. I call her Maze because I was amazed. Sage is almost nine. Sand her partner died from lameness 3/7/2011.

I gave the birdies avocado, and papaya and learned a valuable lesson after doing research. Teal  Button was found in the food dish. Not unusual, but he didn’t seem to feisty so I got him out and he bit me. Shortly afterwards she was back in the food dish. I put seed in and she just stayed immersed in it. I got her out and she laid on her back and I knew the end for Buttons was near. I wrapped her in a towel and brought her too my bed. Her heart started beating really fast and she did the death dance and passed 7-23-11. My sweet bird.

Notes:

Avocado

The skin and pit of this popular fruit had been known to cause cardiac distress and eventual heart failure in pet bird species. Although there is some debate to the degree of toxicity of avocados, it is generally advised to adopt a “better safe than sorry” attitude toward them and keep guacamole and other avocado products as far away from pet birds as possible.

5/31/2012
Terrible flutter. China had parakeet Bows in her mouth. I rescued the poor thing just in the nick of time. Feathers everywhere.
When I first heard the commotion , I thought China had a play squeaky mouse. Then I realized the little mouse had wings. That was so scary. I surely thought the worse had happened. Today Bows seems fine. I have cat proofed the cage with clips on all feeder openings and the door. Evidently that is how China got access. She is one smart cat. I had to shake her to get her too let the little birdie go. Every time the bird would get free enough to fly, China would jump so high and snatch her again in mid flight.UPDATE: Bows was dead on the cage floor three days later. Toxins from the cat saliva did her in 😦

Bows_2012

Minnie used to corner my birds and meow until I came and retrieved them. Purrby let them walk on her back.

I guess China has somewhere acquired a taste for birdies.

 

KaeandPurrby4

Purrby and Kae

Author: cryominute

In my mind are the castles of a realm unseen Come, join me on my flight

I'm listening for the "Whispers"

