Who ? Me ?

I transcribed the lyrics to this song since it can not be found on the WWW. The song yes.

The lyrics are below. I did my best. It’s a neat song by Tex Williams. My dad used to listen to it.

If you don’t talk too much you won’t get into trouble

But if you talk too much your trouble will be double

Man, you telling me..I got into trouble talking, me of all people. Why I was just walking along the street and met a pretty girl. She said ” Let’s stop in some cafe and get me a bite too eat”

I said “Who are you talking too ?”
She said “You” and I said ” Who ? and she said “You” and I said “Me” she said “Yes”

No, I said “no lady I don’t, well we see we never met well I’d like too but we I’m little short on I mean it’s a long ways too I couldn’t afford but no you see but I took her though

If you don’t talk too much you won’t get into trouble

But if you talk too much your trouble will be double

Now when we was through eating she just sit there talking yap yap yap like women will.
The waiter came over and handed me the biggest bill and said “that’s for you” I said “Who are you talking too”
He said “You” and I said ” Who” He said “You” and I said “Me”
He said “Yes” and I said “No, you’ve got the wrong $18, not for what a cup of coffee and a half ,no we didn’t even have, no I won’t pay it, call the manager, I paid him though

If you don’t talk too much you won’t get into trouble

But if you talk too much your trouble will be double

 

Now I don’t know exactly how it happened but that gal sure hooked me for life

Next thing I know I was standing in front of a preacher and he was saying “Do you take this girl to be your loving wife”

I said “Who are you talking too ?”
He said “You” and I said “Who”
He said “You” and I said “Me” he said “Yes”
I said “”No,I hardly know, I bought her, may have kissed her,her mama wouldn’t like, she’s too young. I married her though

If you don’t talk too much you won’t get into trouble

But if you talk too much your trouble will be double

 

Now when we got home that night I was so tired I was wishing I was dead.But she was feeling fine and she said honey it was 2 o’clock and it was time for us to go too bed

I said “Who are you talking too?
She said “You” and I said “Who” and she said “You”
and I said “Me” She said “Yes” I said “Honey Alright”

If you don’t talk too much you won’t get into trouble

But if you talk too much your trouble will be double

 

Author: cryominute

In my mind are the castles of a realm unseen Come, join me on my flight

I'm listening for the "Whispers"

