Southbound France

Southbound

Sunflowers_France

The french name for sunflowers is tournesol.

We were so determined to reach Tangier.

A epidemic of Cholera didn’t even put fear in us. We were young and just didn’t realize how different things are in other countries. I remember sitting in central Madrid, and my fantasies  were of the matadors and fighting bulls. We had much more important things to think about.  I remember it raining so hard, and Rhea was not a light load. Up and down hills, hitching rides, going a little further each day.

It rained so much in France that I borrowed a huge umbrella. It was in one of these huge cisterns that sit in front of the quaint little cafes. It covered all three of us nicely.

I had tired of the plastic bags. I was also getting my fill of bread, yogurt, wine and cheese. After , the planes, trains, and buses  were no longer affordable, one plan of many came to mind.  It dawned on my dear that he would go on the train and find a reserved compartment.

Once onboard, he found one that was reserved for much later that evening.
The destination ~Malaga,Spain.
So, he picked the lock, and we were now sitting very comfortable in some one else’s  cabin unbeknownst to anyone. We had food and water and of course the wine.The train made lots of stops, and I would get off at various ones.

At one of these short stops, the train left. I was terrified. Evans and Rhea are a sleep on this train that just pulled out. The very nice gentleman (Bushiemb) he is from Tangier gets us a cab to the next stop, I board without any problems. As I enter the boxcar, I breathe a sigh of relief, they are both still sound a sleep.
Onward the train chugs, the sunflowers are passing by so quickly, they are so beautiful and scenic  .

The country is flat, you can see for miles. It rains off and on, and I am so glad we are not walking in it.

Malaga is a fish port, the Straights of Gibraltar separate us from the tip of Africa, Tangier,Morocco.

What happened next was not what we had in mind. The train starting slowing down. We had no idea that tickets would be checked, and  we didn’t have any. There was a lot of hollering (Spanish) which I didn’t comprehend, but I knew that it concerned us. They were so upset, they sent us back to Madrid.

Oh well,on to next plan. We had met this great couple. They had a car, and were on holiday. They invited us to go as far south as they were going, which just happened to be Malaga. We had a jolly time,and we could relax.

So, we see the countryside three times.

Those sunflowers made a lasting impression.

Author: cryominute

In my mind are the castles of a realm unseen Come, join me on my flight

I'm listening for the "Whispers"

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.