Tangier Memories Justified

Bellowing_Clouds_Tangier

Bellowing Clouds ~an azure blue sky above Tangier

A few weeks ago I started having my usual dreams of Tangier and realized it was after all the month of July. We had arrived in Tangier mid July 1971 having flown from Dulles to London and then backpacked through , France and Spain. It was a journey of a lifetime. Not many can say they have experienced such a trip. I mention TRIP because it was just that A Major Trip!

So I started doing Google searches and put in Achmed, Tangier and this pops up.

First I notice a book calledSiren’s feast~A Edible Odyssey by Nancy Mehagian and the excerpt made my eyes bulge Smile

“No matter what I did in Tangier, at some point each day, I would return to Achmed’s like a homing pigeon. The meals served were sumptuous and Achmed …”

I researched further and ended up purchasing the book. It is an amazing story and validated that I had not in any way exaggerated or embellished my story. She had met the one and the same “Hole in the Head, Ahmad.

The same Ahmad that partied with the Rolling Stones and supplied the hash he was so well-known for.

The book also has the best of the best recipes. The food in Morocco is extraordinaire.

I then purchased Keith Richards book “Life” and he mentions the parties with Ahmad in his shop in the Medina. He said “We enjoyed being transported,  ‘You could be Sinbad the Sailor, One Thousand and One Nights. We loved it.’

Now, I am on another search. Ahmad was on the cover of the Rolling Stones magazine with a group of models. (Circa Vintage 1969-1970) I found it years ago in the DC Archives but did not get a copy. Now, it seems lost too me and I will continue with my search. It was not imagined. I seen it twice. In his shop and in the archives when we returned to the States.

“We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospection”

Anais Nin

Author: cryominute

In my mind are the castles of a realm unseen Come, join me on my flight

I'm listening for the "Whispers"

